Guests - If You want access to member only forums on HSO. You will gain access only when you sign-in or Sign-Up on HotSpotOutdoors.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
fishuhalik

? about current unemployment rates

93 posts in this topic

I'm currently a manager at a large lawncare company, and this spring the recession hit us pretty good. We ended up having to cut several people since our revenue stream had dwindled quite a bit. Well, since then our business has increased quite a bit, we're almost back to our customer count from 3 years ago!

We ended up trying something. Instead of hiring more people again, we decided to see if we could do the same work with fewer people. Turns out we can, and not at a cost to service or quality. We're now turning higher profit margains than ever. I've always believed that this is possible in 99% of companies out there, and now that businesses are forced to cut people and make those that remain more efficient, I'd imagine companies are realizing that they can do more work with less employees.

Here's my question. Are companies really gonna start hiring more people once this recession is over? Why not just put more work on fewer, better-performing people? We never thought we could do the workload we're doing right now with the staff we have. Now that we realize we can we'll never be back to the same staff we were at. If that's the case, it's gonna be a looong time till we pull out of these unemployment numbers.

I think a lot of companies are doing this and I doubt they will hire back when the business gets back to normal. Not good times for a lot. Also, the folks that do stay work their tails off to make sure they stay employed so you get a lot more work out of your employees now.

It's all cyclical and eventually will come around.

Most people are pushing hard to just keep a job but its an unsustainable productivity curve, eventually burn out and injury's happen and the curve flattens out.