• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Motor Help Please? 28hp Evinrude... I can't go out anymore!!

HopkinsFishN

Hey guys, thanks for reading and hopefully someone will be able to help me out a little bit here. So I have an '83 Evinrude 28hp...thing has run like a top since I've boughten it until Saturday...Got out on the water, motor was goin slower than normal by a few mph...and it starts boggin down at full throttle. It will still run fine at low mph (5-6)but when I put the throttle down it starts boggin down. . .figured it was just a spark plug, changed those out as they were shot...and still have the same issue. . .I am no mechanic by any means, therefore I am here looking for someone if they can direct me on what ya think it is or anyone that would wanna take a look at it. It sounds like the carbs (hopefully a simple cleaning) or maybe fuel pump. Anyways, if someone wants to help a fisherman out here, I would greatly appreciate it!

Here is a lot of info from my troubles with my 25hp Evinrude. Some of it was "carb cleaning" and other issues, and some of it was my fault wink Lots of good info from others and some pitfalls to watch for. All in all, it will be quite easy and cheap to get your running perfectly again.

My thread about same issues from earlier this year.

Good luck!

Thanks to both of you for chiming in here.

Box-Looks like you got a lot of good info here...Main thing. . start cheap and easy first!! haha Anyways, thanks again...probably be coming back with some questions soon enough. But thank you again!