• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Help please!!!

So, I've been out fishing a few times this year, each time raising fish. The only problem, I can't get them to eat. I'm somewhat new to musky fishing since I've never really fished for them in lakes with good populations of them. I've never had one follow up to the boatuntil I moved up here. They've all hit before they got there. Can some of you give me some tips on what to try when I have a hot fish next to the boat? I've had them follow my figure 8, put a suspending jerkbait on their nose but no dice. What should I try? Thanks!

Try to take it for what it is and be happy about a follow. I haven't seen a single fish all year other than the ones my friend has caught and had follow.

In all honesty though, keep doing what you're doing. Figure 8, throw back a different lure a couple of times, and eventually move off the spot. Come back there at a more opportune time, try casting from a different angle, there's a whole slew of things you can do to try and convert that fish. Some guys are really good at it, other guys (like myself) never seem to convert those follows, even if you see them that second or third time.

in the case that you've got boats all around you and you don't want to move of the spot, I suppose persistence can payoff. I sat on a spot for an hour and a half after I had a hot follow and eventually got the fish to bite after throwing everything in my box at it. Seems to me like it was a bit of a fluke, I made a cast about 10 feet from my boat because the current pushed me too close to shore, pulled it back a few time and he bit. Sometimes it's the weird things that get them to go.