• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

3 PIN or 5 PIN?

I'm a newbie about to purchase a bow and it's narrowed down to a Marquis or a Iceman but I'm have a serious mental block on which sight to go with and yardage settings, I have to wear reading glasses to read but distance vision is great so I don't know what size peep to get either. For now the bow will only be used for deer hunting/target practice, I think I'm worried that there may be to many pins in my sight picture, my thoughts have also included ethical shot distances and practice distances Please help with any suggestions and insight.

Tom in Blaine

Well both the bows you picked are pretty flat shooting and good choices. So i wouldn't see a problem with you using 3 pins. You could set your pins at 15,35,45 if you want. Both bows have enough power to fling a arrow out to a 50 or 60 yard shot and wouldn't have a problem shooting that far as long as your comfortable with that shot. As for when your practicing i would shoot the farthest distant possible. The reason why is you will concentrate better when you take that shot and when something comes closer it's a chip shot. So far i have been practicing at 60 yard and can put a dozen arrows in a paper plate all day long and when i take my 30 yard shot i can be right on the money! So people say those shots are too long but if you are comfortable with your equipment anything is possible with alot of practice. Good luck with your new bow.

Each bow is going to be different. If you feel comfortable shooting out to 60 yards (that is to far IMO - you lose to much k-energy for an efficiant kill) you would need a pin and you will need to keep the wind in mind too. Any cross wind can have some serious affect on arrow flight.