• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Wifey bought me a Lowrance 520..????

Ridgerunnr

Question

Yeah I got a keeper on the second try..lol

How do I tell what software version i have and IF its not the right one where do I get the newest version? Im new to the fancy fishfinder stuff so bear with me..also does this thing come with the lake maps etc in it or is that something i need to buy?

you will need to buy the lakemaster chip for the unit....if you hit menu there is a software info or system info something along those lines and it will read 2.4 hopefully otherwise you can take it to big box outdoor store and they should do the update for you.....

Did she remember to get the one with the C on the end of it? If not, tell her it's got to go back! 520C GPS is the one she needed to get you! But you may just want to be happy with what ever she approved!! grin

Wheres the best place to pick up the lakemaster chip for it? What do they normally run?

Look to spend a hundred or so, that's what I ended up paying last year for the lakemaster Mn chip! Worth it though buddy!

Ridge, you got a Keeper there! Oh and the wife is pretty nice Too! grin I think Fleet maybe the cheaper place to find a lake chip? It was the last time I checked Gander & Cabelas.

When you buy the latest chip it has the corrections on it. They surveyed the lakes in the north back in '06 and the maps were kinda messed up on the first chip. The '08 was better and they claim that the '09 is supposed to be 100%. LOL.

uhu..sounds like 09 is th better way to go. The store near me has two kinds..a MN only and a Midwest edition...are they the same maps basically other then adding a few states or is the MN only maybe have more lakes or more detail?????