• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Which credit card?

AaronM

Question

17 answers to this question

They are all going to have their pros and cons really. May want to see if your bank offers one to start. I don't want to turn anything into a hijack thread or get off subject, I got mine through that organization that supports the 2nd amendment, as they state it supports their cause but that's just me

Stay away from cards with an annual fee. Your options are somewhat limited if you have no credit so don't even apply for an AmEx or a VISA super kryptonite card. Discover likes to give cards to people with no or little credit, but there are places that won't take Discover. I got a Mastercard as a student and have stuck with it.

Look for a low rate, this should be way more important than airline miles or cash back or whatever other credit card company scheme to get you to use thing more than you probably should.

I prefer a fixed interest rate, but I think that is mostly a personal decision as a variable rate can only go so low and the C card companies can up your fixed rate with a simple letter in the mail.

Credit cards are really nice for emergencies, etc. but for chrissakes be careful... it doesn't take long to get in over your head.

I'm with yopauly, check with your bank first. We got one through our bank, no fee, and low interest, much lower than we found anywhere else. And always check the fine print. A lot of cards these days will jack your interest up to 18% to 24% if you're late one day on a payment. Our local bank won't do that.

Pick a card with no annual fee. And whatever you do, pay the balance in full EVERY month. We put everything we buy on cards and enjoy the rewards we get from them, (cabela and gander bucks etc) pay them in full each month and you will stay out of trouble.