Guests - If You want access to member only forums on HSO. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on HotSpotOutdoors.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Steve Foss

Spending time with the fairy slipper (images added)

18 posts in this topic

Hey all:

Been running like crazy the last couple weeks with a couple weeks more running to come, but was able finally to locate a prime fairy slipper (calypso orchid) bloom in a cedar swamp near Bemidji. The whole plant is only 5 inches tall, and in the two loose vertical images, the top of the flower to the bottom of the stalk shown is about 3 inches.

I have been working for 4 years to find the rare and ephemeral fairy slipper in bloom, and until now something has always come between us. In this case, I had today and a bit of tomorrow to locate and shoot them, a small amount of time sandwiched between weddings, portraits, travel to other photo locations and such. I breathed a sigh of relief and reward when I finally spotted this little fella.

All with the Canon 1D Mk3 at iso800.

Canon 100 f2.8 macro, 1/15 @ f11, handheld

3593081875_c36bddc2f0_o.jpg

Canon 200 f2.8L, three Kenko extension tubes, 1/85 @ f4, handheld

3593890192_a23246809d_o.jpg

Canon 100 macro, 1/125 @ f4.5, handheld

3593890334_b39482b7d8_o.jpg

Great images, Steve. That second shot is a beauty.

Cool Steve, never seen one of these. What a great find!

Very nice stuff Steve. I have never seen one of these before, just photos.

very nice, my daughter just said she wants to go to a cedar swamp near bemidji to find one of these

Certainly worth the wait. Love 2 and 3. Thanks for taking the time to post your shooting info. Very helpful.

Very nice Steve! 1/15 sec hand held! Image stabilization or not...that is one steady hand you've got.