• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

The Grizz and 59.5 flathead

anyfishanytime

Did anyone else see the pic of "the grizz" last sunday in the St. Paul paper? (last page of the sports section). He is holding a huge flathead, says it was 59 1/2 lbs and that he caught it on 6lb test line.

I'm pretty new to catfishing but that seems just a little hard to believe, I have never caught one even close to that (soon?) but I have seen the videos on here from dtro of huge fish being caught and that does not look like something I would want to try with 6lb mono.

Plus I think he kept it because he was going to apply for a line class record.

...Or maybe it was floating on the surface and he snagged it. I am trying to imagine a 50+ # weight on a 6# line, with no current or struggle I can't see how he could have done this, unless the cat made a suicide run and swam to him.

If it's for real (The Griz is a respected member of the community, I certainly mean no disrespect) then kudos to him for a job well done.

I do agree it's a shame that the animal had to die. frown

The channel in my avatar was 17# and I brought him in on a walleye rod with 8# test... THAT was a 20 minute fight!

I caught about a 20-25 pound channel in fast water up in Winnepeg on 8 pound... you COULD get a big fish in on light line, if there weren't any obstructions. Can land anything if you got a big net and you're on a sandy bottom

I've heard of people catching 400+lb sailfish on 4lb line, so yes, it can be done.