• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Stunted fish

WyoChris

im not an expert but what i think of is typically a stunted sunfish population. which i also think of as a lake that has a very high population of sunnies, which in turn results in the lack of food for the high population. this causes them to either die off, or not consume a substantial amount of food to grow. so in short, very high population causes little fish...

im no expert but thats what i think of it as.

"Stunted" populations can also occur in places where angler harvest is high. If anglers keep all fish above 7" the population will be driven to maturity at an earlier stage and smaller size. This leads to lower growth rates since energy that would go toward growth is now going to reproduction.

mn_bowhunter, Interesting theory! What if the angler harvest is low or 'non-existant'? I'd always been told that if the predator populations are high, the panfish will be large, but few. If the predator populations are low, the panfish will be small, but plentiful (stunted). It goes back to what Burnham and crothmeier stated and as a former keeper of the waters (aquariums), I agree, The fish will grow to the size that their habitat/surroundings will allow. If you put a lone sunnie into a 10 gallon aquarium, he'll only grow so big. Put his brother into a 50 gallon aquarium right beside him, he'll grow to 4-5X the size of his brother. Given the right conditions, an 'aquarist' could potentially grow a MONSTER Sunfish, given the right conditions and a healthy fish from the start. There's a challenge for the Aquarists on FM!! Phred52