• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

This is my first year hunting morels and after finding and eating my first batch I'm hooked. I have looked on the web on almost every conceivable site for info on morels. It seems that most web sites are directed towards the southern parts of the midwest Iowa,Ill,Indiana,Wis. I'm just wondering a few things.

1.Are the blacks the first or last to come out?

2.Do the yellows and grays come at the same time?

3.Whats the time frame between the groups?

We found a few (blacks) about a week ago in the Detroit lakes area. I fryed them in butter and bread crumbs. I Re hydrated them in milk. THEY WERE AWSOME!!!!!!!

Blacks and grays are pretty much the same thing and they are the first to come up. You usually find the grays and yellows together a little wile after the first grays come up in kind of a change over. Eventually the grays disappear and you get all yellow, and with some good conditions the yellows start becoming huge. As it gets warmer and dryer the yellows will start drying out and stop producing and you are coming to the end of the season. Good luck I would think with you finding your first grays a week ago, you should be coming up on some good yellows if the moisture is right in your area.

Nice find!! I see a lot of dirt balls still attached there!

Its best to remove those when you first pick them and before you toss them in a bag together because it makes cleaning and eating much more enjoyable.

It can be difficult to get all the sand/dirt/grit out of a morel if there's dirt with them in your mushroom bag.

After looking at the ones you got Pickelfarmer I am wondering if the grays grow better and bigger then the grays down south. I have never seen grays that big where I hunt down in SE MN. I wonder if the cooler conditions north allow for the grays to grow better.