• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Shooting without sights

I recently started shooting an older wood compound bow that doesn't have sights. It is really fun and quite challenging, much different than shooting with releases, fiber optic sights, stabilizers, and all the other technological advances I have grown accustomed to. Which brings me to my question. Does anyone have any tips on shooting conventionally? I am specifically looking for tips on aiming accurately consistently. I know there is no substitute to practice, I just wnat to make sure I am efficiantly using my time.

Thanks.

The first question I have for you is what is your shooting experience? It sounds like you do from your fist post, but not knowing you, I just like to know how much fundementals are there.

If you have the fundamentals down, your body and your brain will take over the rest. At that point you have to trust the shot. Like you said, practice, practice, practice.

Untill then, make sure you have a good backstop. Then FOCUS. Concentrate on a single spot, an arrow hole in the target as upposted to the entire target. "Aim small miss small" is the key. If you can look at nothing except the point you want that arrow to be, I mean burn a hole threw that spot, your arrow will hit it. (it does take some time to refine things, it may not be immediate)

"Shooting without sights" or "Instictive" shooting is a lot like thowing a baseball or football at a target. You are not sure how you're able to do it, but you do. And with practice you can do it every time.

I have been shooting for about three years now. Once spring hits, I spend about three to four hours a week shooting in the backyard and at parks. I like to think I have the fundamantals down. I feel very comfortable shooting and hitting my target at ditances out to 45 to 60 yards.