• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Fishing Live Crawfish

TN Rick

We are going to Rainy Lake the end of June and I am thinking of trapping and trying to use some live crawfish as bait. In the past we have had SM spit them up when we get them to the boat so I thought that crawfish might be a good bait to try.

I fish a lot of plastic baits and some hard body baits, but must admit that I have little experience fishing live bait and NO experience using crawfish. I have researched and can find little on the subject, which keads me to believe that it might not be a productive technique.

Any advice or experience that can be shared would be greatly appreciated.

I would focus more on cayfish for you to eat, as they are the bomb!

As far as fish go.. I have heard many reasons why fish do not eat crayfish at certain times. I for one believe that they eat them when the shed, because they are the most soft at that time... and when they are small, because they can eat them easier. Crayfish must put up quite a fight when a bass tries to gulp them up, otherwise they wouldn't so thick on some lakes.

I would stick with the plastic version. Trapping them can be helpful to get a good idea on what color they are in that lake at that specific time of the year, then you can match that with your bait. I'm a big fan of the YUM craw tube. They are softer than other brands I've tried and have smaller claws. I love this bait because unlike most plastics we use, this one looks lke the real thing, and you can flip, drag, or swim them. I keep blue, red and natural on hand ALWAYS.

I use crawdads almost exclusively during the mid summer/post spawn pattern. Typically,it is a July bite for some reason on the water that I fish.