• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Hi, I have the oppurtunity to purchase a 1d with two batteries.

It is used and has around 4000actuations. The owner wants 450.00

My question is should I pull the plug or would I be better off with a new rebel xsi. I am pretty new to dslrs.

Thanks

bottomdweller, there are a lot of features the 1 series bodies have that make them very sweet to use. But that body is quite old now, even though it was the top of the Canon line in its day.

What types of things are you going to shoot?

If 4,000 is the right number of shutter actuations, you're getting a good deal for that body at that price, but it's easier for us to give you an opinion if we know the types of photography you want to do.

Hmmm, that's a toughie.

The XSi has much better autofocus capabilities on moving subjects than the older entry-level DSLRs, but I don't know if it's as good as the autofocus on the 1D. I'd guess not. And Ai servo mode autofocus is a big deal when you're photographing sports/dogs/etc., anything that's moving a lot.

So I think that might be a vote for the 1D.

Digital noise is another issue, and I don't know how the two bodies compare in that category either. The 1D has a larger sensor than the XSi, and at 4.1 Mp it would perform quite well noise-wise because the more pixels you pack on a sensor the more noise you have, and there are a LOT more pixels on the XSi's smaller sensor. However, pixel technology has come a long way since the 1D, and the XSi has a much newer processor, which also cuts down on noise. I'd have to say that one's a tossup. Anybody have direct noise comparisons on the two?