• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

low voltage code?

shnelson

I'm having a house built, and while discussing my need to have Cat6/ethernet run to each room our GC mentioned we could run all of the low voltage to save on build price if we wanted.

Naturally, I'm all for it. I've had limited electrical experience with a few homes that I've helped build in the past. What i'm wondering now is what codes do I need to be cautious of when running cable/telecom/ethernet for it to pass inspection?

I did a quick search on the forum but couldnt come up with anything low voltage related. I don't mind doing my own research, but I'm at a loss where I should be looking at this point?

I recently did this to my cabin. I ran (2) cat6e cables and (1) Coax cable to each location where I wanted TV/Telephone/data ports. This will give you almost unlimited ability for anything needed in a residential application. I also got a punch down panel to terminate all my LV cables to that was placed in the mechanical room. Think of it like a electrical panel for you LV.

Older cables would get interference if they crossed 120 volt systems, but the newer stuff has better shielding, but still try to keep all these cables separate. DO NOT share openings with power.

I struggled if I wanted to do this since I feel that in a few years cables will be obsolete and everything will be wireless. I put one phone in the house, but put TV locations everywhere I ever thought it would be needed. There is only one time to do it, and for the cost now, it is cheap.

Depending on what you are doing for insulation, you will problably need to do vapor proof boxes at exterior walls (building code, not electrical code), so do that the first time. Any box can be used on interior walls.