• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Liquid or granular weed-n-feed?

Stickjiggler

What works better. I've never used a liquid before but am considering giving it a try this year. Any tips or recomendations of what to use. 15,000 sq.ft. grass in good shape with minimal weeds but a lot of quack.

Most likely, neither product you're going to buy is not going to be labeled for control of Quackgrass.

So far the only one that I know of is a Monsanto product called Certainty. However, unless you have a very calibrated sprayer, you're probably going to have a yard that looks like you sprayed roundup on it. These are just the reports that I've seen on different lawn application websites.

As for the liquid vs granular application, I personally believe the liquid will be the way to go.

With a granular application, you need to do it either early morning when the dew is still on the ground, or right after a rain shower. If you have an irrigation system, then run the system and then do an application as well.

Granular works by having the granuals stick to the leaves of the plant.

With a liquid application, you don't have to worry about the leaf being wet, since you're applying the water.

With either, you want to do the application when it will be dry for 24 hours AFTER the application, which means if you do have an irrigation system that runs every day, make sure it's shut off for a day, or two.