• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Pitching for Distance

MurkyWaters

One of my goals for the upcoming season is to be able to pitch jigs. I just started practicing a bit and I feel like I am comfortable with it, but I am questioning if I am getting enough distance on my pitches. I have developed some consistency in pitches from 20 - 22 feet. However, this seems to be my max range (with consistency and no backlashes)...In practice, what is the distance of a typical pitch? What range should I strive for? Any other advice that could increase my distance? Below is the equipment that I have been using...

6'6" MH Rod, Low profile baitcasting reel (with braking system on low or off), 25 pound braid, 3/8 oz jig...Would a 7 foot rod work better?

I dont mean to steal the thread but I am wondering how you guys are able to pitch so well with a baitcast setup? I have a 7' MH Shimano Crucial with a Curado 100 DHVS (the larger capacity spool) and its almost impossible to pitch anything under 3/4 ounce. If I have less braking it nests and if I have more braking it doesnt go anywhere! I am wondering if it isnt due to the higher capactiy spool!